Half-a Gumtree

There were Stri-peds everywhere and some were rather wobbly.

There were Stri-peds everywhere and some were rather wobbly.

Section 69 meets someone benign

As his eyes rose from the book in front of him to the park he cherished outside the window the phone rang heading off a marking-resistant reverie

Another stunning view of the Park.

Another stunning view of the Park.

“Vernon. Are you there, classless? Fiddlesticks! How can you be, this is England; what I mean is are you free? Accept an invitation to my humble office won’t you? Till then old chap.” The phone line went dead and Vernon smiled enlivened. There was something benign about a command issued by Dr Gumtree. Never to be taken as a soft touch, the Academic Director was nevertheless, never heavy handed. He made his way through the labyrinthine corridors of the school to Dr Gumtree’s office whose décor, though hardly salubrious ,was lifted by yet another stunning view of the Park. He knocked and waited.

“Come on in.” He did.

“Vernon come in and sit yourself down. By the way, what do you call a kiddie in the Prep School eh?”

Vernon had grown used to the Academic Director’s penchant for school related jokes. He smiled for the second time that day. “Tell me Arthur, put me out of my misery.”

"I see what you did there Arthur."

“I see what you did there Arthur.”

“A Stri-ped. ”

With an exaggerated sigh Vernon said, “Yes I saw what you did there. What was it you wanted me for? I am but a humble lower-class classless teacher.”

Check out The Novel page

Leave a Reply

