A school of fish

Section 116 gets legless

He knocked on the familiar door and waited.

“Ah come in. There you are Vernon, on time as usual. Well well. Are you trying to get rich quick eh? Better not tell me in case I’m interrogated. Be sad to see you go though. By the way, how is a school of children different from a school of fish?”

"Many a true word is spoken in jest'" thought Vernon tugging at his beard.

“Many a true word is spoken in jest'” thought Vernon tugging at his beard.

“I have a feeling you’re about to tell me venerable joker.”

“Its also collection of harassed and witless individuals that can’t keep their heads above water; just like a school of children but it has less legs.”

“The sixth form can get pretty legless at the weekend and that reduces the difference even further I’d say.” Vernon joined in the banter but his heart wasn’t in it. “You wanted to see me?”

“Yes Vernon. You’ll need time off I suppose for getting visas and such like. Next week we want to interview for your post; the headmaster would like you involved. He tells me a resignation letter turned up. Your severance conditions look pretty generous to me. I’d stick to the way things are if I were you.”

It was not often that Dr Gumtree was grave. When he was he spoke with a gravitas that was hard to ignore. Vernon conceded his point.

“Just let me say this for the record. I have not embezzled anybody and neither has Jean Luc. As for his son we’ll just have to wait and see.”

“Quite so Vernon, quite so. Perhaps you’d give some thought to some lessons your potential successors can take so that we can observe them. You’re a hard act to follow you know.”

Vernon left the office thinking just how useful a nonsense filter would be and felt just confident enough to head for the common room for high tea.

Vernon wondered casually what they put in high tea.

Vernon wondered casually what they put in high tea.

Check out the story so far on The Novel page

Leave a Reply

